Posted by: S/J | 06/18/2009

Shiney Ahuja

shiney-ahuja-wallpaper Sona: I just can’t get over the Shiny situation
Jasmine: I know I’m reading it…It’s so sad
Jasmine: I hope he doesn’t get punished for the wrong reason because it’s been reported that he said, that they had consensual sex…I hope the maid is not trying to phassa him
Sona: Well the news is out that he admitted to consensual sex, but the rape kit was positive…and you know the girl was only 17-18 and over that a maid
Sona: Shiny had so much authority
Jasmine: Yeah, but was she 17 or 18? Makes a big difference
Sona: Either way he had the position of power and over that he’s married. I mean not like he’s the only one in the world who’s cheated on their spouse, but….
Jasmine: Right, but if she’s an adult then isn’t that a totally different thing
Sona: I’m not sure…it probably is, but I don’t know much about the Indian Penal Code. In America it would be considered statutory rape even if it was consensual, if she was seventeen…
Sona: So far they haven’t been discussing that aspect of the problem, I haven’t read anything about it
Sona: But I did read somewhere that they were doing some tests to figure out what her age was…
Jasmine: Oh okay
Sona: I’m just wondering, she doesn’t know her age? Well it is possible in India I guess, I mean my grandpa wasn’t sure how old he was
Jasmine: Yeah why isn’t she saying that…dude aaj kal toh pata honi chahiye
Sona: But that was in the 1920s, I figured that records were updated now and the system was better
Jasmine: Right!
Sona:Well whatever it is, I really hope the right person gets justice
Jasmine: Yeah of course otherwise it’s just so sad
Sona: And did you notice in India you only get 7-10 years of prison time for rape?
Jasmine: Yeah
Sona: If you’re a rapist, you’ve ruined this woman’s life and the government thinks 7-10 years is enough…what kind of bullshit is that?!
Jasmine: I’m looking up rape sentence in US
Sona: Yeah me too
Jasmine: And just found something on wiki…I know it’s not the most reliable but…here it is:
Prison sentences for rape are not uniform. A study made by the U.S. Department of Justice of prison releases in 1992, involving about 80 percent of the prison population, found that the average sentence for convicted rapists was 11.8 years, while the actual time served was 5.4 years. This follows the typical pattern for violent crimes in the US, where those convicted typically serve no more than half of their sentence [1].
Sona: That hella sucks!
Jasmine: Yeah…don’t understand this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

