Posted by: S/J | 02/05/2012

Review: Chandni

Yo gaonwalo, what is the going ons? So you know we’ve established that we suck and we’re not here to prove that theory wrong. We still suck because, you know, if you still by chance come here once in a while in the hopes of some filmi gyan, you obviously don’t find anything. If you’re wondering why we suck, well we’re trying to make our dreams come true – yeah, no big deal. We will become stylists to Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, Katrina Kaif, Vidya Balan, Chitrangda Singh…and also many more people! We’re building our portfolio as we write and so far it’s going pretty well on the most part. So without more ‘bak bak,’ here goes the actual review.

Directed by: Yash Chopra

Cast: Sri Devi, Rishi Kapoor, Vinod Khanna, Anupam Kher, Waheeda Rehman

Rating: 3.5/5

Review type: The one where Sona’s cousin had to come in and save our blog from ourselves.

Hi guys! So, my name is Arjoo. I’ve recently been re-discovering all the Hindi films I watched as a child and also the ones that are classics and never watched. For a brief period of time I stopped watching Hindi films. I conformed to the American norms and watched American movies. Now don’t get me wrong, I love American films, but Hindi films have a ‘jadoo’ that only Hindi films have.

I’ve watched so many these past few weeks that I don’t know which one to talk about first. Hmm…. well OK! I got it! CHANDNI!! I had no idea what was going to happen in the movie… I was mostly just excited to see the all beautiful Sri Devi. Sri Devi was absolutely stunning, her eyes oh baghvan those eyes!! The songs were amazing, I finally got to know where the songs I’ve heard all my life came from. Well the beginning was typical – man sees a beautiful women dancing and  falls in love instantly. Afterwards, the guy convinces the girl she should love him too. Once they get together it’s all unicorns and rainbows until they want to get married.

Rishi Kapoor’s character is rich and Sri Devi’s family isn’t so of course his family doesn’t approve of her especially the mother-in-law, I know shocker. Then things happen and they break up. Then Chandni creates a new life for herself and starts to work. Her boss ends up falling in love with her and holy crap his mother is the sweetest.  He was such a romantic and so nice! I was so excited when both of them ended up together… then, oh god the loser had to get his life together to get Chandni back. I was like really now you want her? You left her and treated her like shit and let your parents treat her like shit and now you want her back? Randomly after hella months.

The most infuriating scene was when he thinks that she’ll just go back to him even though he was such a evil butthole. Like you serious? She said no and I was ecstatic! Finally a different ending, but then no that’s not the end. At the wedding Rishi Kapoor falls down the stairs, drunk, and she screams and shows her boss that she actually still loves him. So, in the end she ends up with the guy who was a jerk with the horrible family who hates her and leaves the amazingly lovely man with the mother who adores her.

Oh my baghvan! This was such a gandi ending! Realistically speaking when you marry someone, you marry their family also and if they don’t approve your life is going to be a living hell. I was so sad when the poor boss was left alone and he said he just wasn’t meant to be with anyone.

My poor little black hole* couldn’t take it. I know it’s just a movie, but I love when the endings are different and not what you expected. Overall, it was a good movie with great songs and I really loved gawking at Sri Devi.

Well guys, that’s it for the review. You will definitely be hearing from me since I’ve been watching sooo many Hindi movies. Hope you guys liked it, ’till next time!

Arjoo 🙂

 

________________________________________________________________________

*black hole is what I call my heart, because it’s so small – because I can never completely suspend belief and be okay with some shit, like Rishi Kapoor’s character in this movie, that happens in Hindi movies. But I LOVE them anyway, so much. It doesn’t make sense, but it kind of does.

***********

This is Sona, I was just editing the post for Arjoo and I’d just like to add these things. Me singing, ‘Mere Haathon Mein Nau Nau Choodiyaan Hai and Chandni O’ Meri Chandni and Mitwa and Sri Devi in white and that yellow sari and how beautiful is this movie and also cognac shraab nahin hoti. That’s all. I LOVE Yash Uncle, yeah that’s right we call him Yash Uncle and also Waheeda Ji aaaand, Vinod Khanna amiright?! I’m also speaking for Jasmine and she completely agrees.


Responses

  1. Someone essentially assist to make seriously articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular post extraordinary. Fantastic task!


Leave a comment

Categories