Posted by: S/J | 02/10/2012

Review: Agneepath (1990)

Directed by: Mukul S. Anand

Cast by: Amitabh Bachchan, Mithun Chakrobarty, Madhvi, Neelam Kothari

Rating: 0.5/5

Review type: The one where Sona’s cousin will continue to save the blog and will wonder why she went through watching this movie.

So maybe I missed something, but what’s all the hulabaloo around Agneepath? I’m still wondering why you would remake such a terrible film? Let’s start with the story line which was completely unoriginal. It was like all other 70’s, 80’s, and 90’s films about revenge. Father is a good man who gets killed and the son wants revenge. One word: Deewar. Deewar starred Amitabh also and was made before Agneepath and had the same basic story line, but of course it was much better. The story was more concise and more believable, no scenes where people are shooting with machine guns and miss the good people and only kill the bad guys.

Some people say the reason the movie was so good because Amitab’s acting was so good, uhmm really guys? It was like whatever and his stupid voice made me cringe every time I heard it. Why was the voice necessary?!! It was so distracting and honestly had to pause the movie several times…it was that annoying. The supporting actors like the sister and his wife were so random and unnecessary in this film; they added nothing to the story. This is a really grueling review for me to write because all I want to say is the movie was bad period. Honestly don’t watch this movie, just watch Deewar you’ll enjoy it more.

If you disagree, as I’m sure most of you do, please tell me why? I would like to know why you think this is a good movie and why Amitabh Bachchan’s acting was so raved about, when he’s much better in other movies.

 


Leave a comment

Categories